Career Theme Contest

Last night’s contest was “Styling Career Theme”

WHEN I GROW I WANT TO BE A DOCTOR BUT INSTEAD I BECAME A MODEL. SO Y’ALL THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO SHOW WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE- BY STYLING YOURSELF AND BE CREATIVE WITH IT.

After being away from SL for most of the weekend, I wanted to participate in this contest and try to make up some lost ground. I needed to pick a career that nobody else would pick and also one I could do relatively cheaply. Call me a miser, but when the top prize is 500L, it doesn’t leave a lot of leeway for creating a look. In the end I picked “Stock Broker” as my target. The challenge became one of answering the question, “What does a stockbroker look like?”

stock_broker_002

I chose this conservative gray tweed suit from Sartoria as my foundation and built out from there with Uncleweb Hibiki Hair (coffee), the Beckham shape, my Emil 3 Pale Tan Redgrave skin, and a pair of HOC Apparel Formal Dress Shoes. The visual cues are the briefcase, the Wall Street Journal, a bluetooth earbud representing my cell phone, and the glasses.

stock_broker_0061

The clothes, glasses, and avatar parts I had in my inventory already which left the briefcase, newspaper, and earbud. The briefcase was easy to make but difficult to use well. The newspaper was trivial since I’d made a copy of Variety for the Actor Contest. One of my friends built me the earbud complete with flashing blue light.

The problem with the briefcase — or any artifact you carry — is making it look natural. Many of SL’s animations are intended for empty hands. Luckily I had a walk (Outrider Male Walk3) from Outrider Animations that involves a straight arm/closed fist look. I let me move naturally with the briefcase in my hand. I coupled that with a default stand from Long Awkward Pose that left me posing with the arm extended so the briefcase fell naturally along my left thigh. After that it was a matter of loading a sequence of poses that kept the briefcase out of my body. With my limited selection, that wasn’t trivial, but I found several that I was able to put together in different ways.

The result: Third Place
winners_lineup_careers2

Jillian Convair took first with her High Powered Lawyer, and Lovena Allen took second with her Famous Chef.

What Would I Do Differently?

Looking this outfit over with a critical eye, I think I’d have picked different shoes.

stock_broker_shoes There’s nothing really wrong with these HOC dress shoes. At 20L they’re one of the best pair of inexpensive dress shoes going. But while they’re very well done, they aren’t really in the same class as a Jeepers Creepers shoe. In hindsight, I might have been better off wearing my Shanghai in red and black. They have a nice shape and richly designed, but I ruled them out as being too flashy for the conservative stock broker look I was going for. With my prize money, maybe I’ll go to JCS and get a pair of Sebastians in black for later use.

Shape: David Beckham – Body Doubles.
Skin: Emil 3 Pale Tan – Redgrave
Hair: Hibiki (Coffee) – UncleWeb
Eyes: Gleaming – Forest Green – E’s for Eyes

Suit: spezzato tweed_grey – Spezzato
Shoes: Formal dress shoes – HOC Apparel
Glasses: primOptic Crowe glasses 1.17 – primOptic

Special Pose: Long Awkward Pose – Caught

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on March 3, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

