I’m a Lumberjack and I’m OK.

Tonight’s theme was Career. This is the second time, and I really wanted to do something different. I’ve learned a lot about these styling events and subtlety is never a winning strategy. I wanted something with a strong visual hook and an archetype that was linked to “rugged male.” Almost all of the usual suspects have been done pretty much to death so I picked an image from my youth — Paul Bunyan.

LumberJack

It was more difficult than I thought to find the right red, plaid shirt. When I found it at SB Men’s, the jeans came with and they were exactly what I needed as a base. After that, I just needed the lace up boots, which were in my inventory from a previous run to HOC, and the belt. The belt is from Kings Men’s Store and it’s really a nice one. It was required because the lower jacket didn’t really match the upper too well. The belt masked it nicely.

The touque was the same one I made for my go-go dancer. I just colored it black. The axe I made in about 10 minutes on Sunday afternoon. The skin is the full beard option from my Thomas in Tan (Belleza) set and the hair is MADesigns Jordan in solid brown. I really needed a hair that parted in the middle for that old-timey woodsman look. This came as part of a group gift last month and was perfect for what I wanted.

The Result

Second Place!

lumberjack_wins_2nd

I have to confess, I wasn’t expecting a place with this outfit. It’s not really like it’s a viable career or anything, but the attention to the strong hook and cleaving to the archetype paid off tonight.

What would I do different?

Suspenders. I really needed suspenders. I ran out of time trying to construct them from copies of the belt, and the pair I purchased were impossible to pose in. They looked great, but weren’t really working.

Boots. These were pretty nice for the purpose, but something a little rougher and clunkier might have been more like a Wolverine work boot.

Belt pouches. I really felt like I needed something on that belt. Maybe a canteen – altho I’m not sure a lumberjack would carry a canteen like that.

Stuff

Shirt and Pants: SB Plaid Shirt and Jeans – SB Menswear
Boots: Leather Laced Boots – HOC
Belt: Black Leather – King For Men

Skin: Belleza – Thomas Tan 3
Hair: MADesigns – Jason -Solid Brown
Eyes: E’s – Gleaming Forest Green

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on April 14, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

