Beyond Freebie, Revisited

A few months ago I started writing this blog and outfitted myself with freebies. It didn’t take long for me to find that my bulky, blocky shape, and freebie skin and clothes weren’t really making it. And by “making it” I mean that I didn’t like looking at me on the screen.

So much has changed in five short months.

Right now I’m getting ready for two events coming up this week — a 10L theme and a freebie theme — and the results are surprising.

All_Free_Body

There is nothing in that picture that I paid for. With group gifts, various hunts, and store freebies I was able to put together this whole look.

All_Free_Torso

The quality of freebies and hunt items is sometimes spotty but group gifts are often very good. That’s certainly the case with the skin from LeLeutka and the vest from :sey. I was also blown away by the “Neko belt” from Trixxy’s Shop.

All_Free_Belt

I’m not sure what the fascination is with drugs, cigarettes, etc, but there’s plenty of detail work in this belt and I really liked the fit.

Shoes and boots are often problematic but I found a lot of possibilities. What I ended up with is this pair from Studio M’z.

All_Free_Boots

I’m wearing them without the tall shafts to keep my prim count down a bit and control my ARC.

All together, I’m really pleased with the result and I think the strategy of offering stuff for free in order to interest prospective buyers works very well. I know I’m going out shopping later because I’ve really grown attached to this LeLeutka skin and I’d like to see what’s new at MADesigns.

The Rundown
Shape – self created

Hair – .::MADesigns Hair::. ~ CRUZ ~ PLBL II w resize script) – Group Gift

Skin – [LeLutka]-ABSOLUTE-pale-base-faceB_1 (new release group gift)

Eyes – MADesigns NATURALS – unbelievable blue eyes (Group Freebie)

Vest – :sey R & D [505] (Group Freebie)

Shirt – WoE DG-01a Men’s Dragon T-Shirt (Bunny Hop)

Choker – UK.NANA Choker -Medium (resize) (Bunny Hop – Ultra Kitty)

Bracelet – –Umi Usagi– The Bunny Hop hunt wrist Belt

Belt – Neko Belt (Mens) – Trixxy’s Shop (Spring is in the Air Hunt)

Jeans – :sey union cross Jeans (Group freebie)

Boots – Studio M’z Strap Long VH.black (Bunny Hop Hunt)

Total cost: zero L

Effect: Priceless

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on April 20, 2009, in Freebies. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

