Freebie Friday

The theme for tonight was “freebie.” The deal was “head to toe.”

Easy peasy.

All_Free_Body

I blogged about this the other day so I won’t belabor the points. Suffice it to say, I was really pleased with this styling.

The Result

Third Place.

winner_freebie

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed. The judge was apparently looking for something other than what I had. I did place. That’s really the important part because it means another 500L and 50 votes at the end of the month show.

But, I’m beginning to wonder what I’ve got to do to win.

What Would I Do Differently?

Swapped out the jeans and shirt. I liked the texture of the jeans but perhaps something a little less ratty and a bit more finished would have worked better. The shirt had a nice pattern and I thought it went well with the overall look, but I’ve got about forty-leven shirts to choose from. Maybe one of them would have gotten a fractionally higher mark.

Swapped out the boots. I really don’t like those boots. They’re hugely prim heavy and they looked ok but after finding the Gnubie store Shreds the other night, I have to wonder if there isn’t a better free footwear – maybe even lurking in my inventory.

Swapped out the choker for something like a scarf or a necklace.

Added shades, or maybe goggles, on the top of my head. I didn’t want to wear them over my eyes and hide the freebie eyes, but on my head would have been interesting.

I don’t know. It’s getting harder and harder to see what really matters with the judges. Tonight I got enough of a mark to make 3rd, but I saw 2nd and I saw 1st. What I didn’t see is what set them above me and until I can begin to assess that, I really don’t stand a chance here.

Stuff
Body:
Shape – self created
Hair – .::MADesigns Hair::. ~ CRUZ ~ PLBL II w resize script) – Group Gift
Skin – [LeLutka]-ABSOLUTE-pale-base-faceB_1 (new release group gift)
Eyes – MADesigns NATURALS – unbelievable blue eyes (Group Freebie)

Outfit:
Vest – :sey R & D [505] (Group Freebie)
Shirt – WoE DG-01a Men’s Dragon T-Shirt (Bunny Hop)
Choker – UK.NANA Choker -Medium (resize) (Bunny Hop – Ultra Kitty)
Bracelet – –Umi Usagi– The Bunny Hop hunt wrist Belt
Belt – Neko Belt (Mens) – Trixxy’s Shop (Spring is in the Air Hunt)
Jeans – :sey union cross Jeans (Group freebie)
Boots – Studio M’z Strap Long VH.black (Bunny Hop Hunt)

Total cost: zero L

Effect: Priceless

Frustration: Almost total.

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on April 25, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Seriously? You CAN’T see? Well I have a theory… the only thing that they have and you don’t is… boobs.
    There’s free and there’s cheap… these ladies LOOK cheap, you don’t.
    What Would *I* Do Differently?
    Change the judges…
    I’m just saying

  2. Heh.

    Tonight’s judge is one whose opinion I respect, actually. There are some who really don’t know what they’re looking at or for. Tonight’s judge is a trained and award winning model in her own right.

    And I *really* didn’t wanna go the “all I need to do is be female” route.

    But I have to admit, there are days when I’m tempted.

Leave a Reply

