Pierced Through

The theme for the night was “belly piercing.”

Yea. That’s right, belly piercing.

I confess, when I first saw this my first thought was, “Buh?!”

I mean what guy wears a belly button piercing?

Um. Well, seems like the answer to that is, “A lot.” I did some research and found out that I lead a sheltered existence. Men frequently have an “inverse” pierce and the most commonly used is a simple ball and bar. So, that was where I began. I ended up here:

belly_piercing

This is difficult to show in pictures without doing a lot of them really close up, but that pic should give the sense of it. At the navel, I have three gold beads arranged on a loop. I’m also wearing a matching gold ear clip with a single ball at the lobe and a pair through my upper ear. For balance, I added a simple eyebrow ring on my right eyebrow.

The challenge after that was finding the outfit that let the piercings show and still created a uniform look. In my world, this much metal in skin is associated with “old war wounds” and not high fashion, so I followed that idea with the V-Twins “Rush” Jacket, a pair of Original AlphaMale jeans and my favorite Boho Sandals from Shiny things. A pair of fingerless gloves, a bearded face from Belleza’s Thomas, and :sey’s edokin necklace gave the outfit a level of cohesion I’m not really able to do all the time.

In addition to the outfit, I spent some time this week looking for a better walk. My old walk was pretty good, but I’ve really been wanting a walk that didn’t act so much like I was lumbering around the stage. Something with a little snap, crackle, pop. I found it in the new Vista Animations “VAmocwalk1.5vacilon” in the new AO vendor at the main store. At 150L it was pricey but I love the way it makes me strut.

Last, I’ve been tweaking the shape. I think I look ok in my normal Roland shape, but I’ve been looking at some of the other male models around and, frankly, I look kinda whimpy. So for the last couple of days I’ve been adding the odd tweak and adjustment to go for a more broad shouldered, “dark and angry” look that matches what I’m seeing around me in terms of models.

I was really pleased with the look as I went out. My goal was to put together the best look I could and this was it.

The Result
A shocking Third Place.
third_place
There were a lot of good looking belly piercings and some fantastic looks. It was a total surprise when I heard my name called for third place.

What Would I Do Differently?

Given that the contest was on the Beach Stage, I might have gone with a beachie theme, or perhaps my short-denim shorts and an open shirt. The outfit would have to be simple, to keep from overwhelming the simple design of the jewelry

Rather than the gold ball-and-bar design, something with more point and edge might have given a nice look as well, particularly if done in silver.

In any event, I got more than my 2 votes toinight and I’m tickled.

Stuff

Jacket: VTwins “Rush” Motorcycle Jacket
Gloves: VTwins fingerless gloves
Jeans: Alphamale – Original
Sandals: Bo-Ho Sandals from Shiney Things
Necklace: :sey – edokin
Piercings: Roland Zepp

Skin: Belleza – Thomas Tan Bald 2
Hair: Unclewebs – Hibiki (coffee)

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on May 2, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

