SPQR

Anybody who’s ever seen a gladiator movie has seen those letters. They’re the abbreviation for “Senatus Populusque Romanus” – The Senate and People of Rome. We’ve seen a ton of togas around the Grid but Caliber has something that’s a little less formal.

roman

I really like the textures used on the tunic. It has a great nubbly feel to it that isn’t done justice in the picture and the pattern on the trim is very nicely done. The bracers add a nice finishing touch.

In honesty, I have to say, the other various prim attachments that came with this outfit gave me grief. The package includes a belt (pictured) and a shoulder cape (not). I couldn’t make the belt fit comfortably. It tended to shift in odd ways as my AO shifted my stand. I suspect it might have been the attachment point but I didn’t experiment with it. It also felt a little heavy for the tunic, but that might have been me. And in defense of this designer’s work, I have a problem with pretty much every prim belt I’ve ever worn, so this could well be an issue with me and not the outfit. It looks pretty good in the photos.

The shoulder cape, I just couldn’t figure out how to work it. No matter how I stood or where I put it, the flexi part of the cape draped oddly and my arm was always sticking thru it. Ultimately, I decided to leave it off for this shoot. My not-so-mad Prim-Adjustment Skillz just weren’t up to dealing with it and I thought the tunic looked better without it than it looked with my half-baked attempts to adjust it.

This is only e pluribus unum of the great outfits you’ll find at the grand re-opening of Caliber this weekend. Whatever time period you’re into, you’ll find something to suit your taste.

Tomorrow, pictures of the store and landscaping. The place is amazingly! I only hope I can do it justice.

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on May 6, 2009, in Clothes, Fashion Events. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

