Man in Black

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to participate in the contests so it was good to get back on stage tonight. The bad news was that didn’t really have time to prepare much because of all the Grand Re-Opening festivities. The good news was that I had something for “Country Singer” already.

Man in Black

Yes, I used this costume a few weeks ago and lost, but under the circumstances, I had to pull it out and try again. I did look at my advice to myself from last time and made some changes.

I tossed the musical gestures. As fun as they were, it’s not really “modeling” so I left them off.

Without them, I followed Coco Chanel’s advice on accessorizing and “took off the last thing I put on.” In this case it was the guitar stuck to my back. I was thinking that looked funny just stuck on there. It needed a strap, but getting a strap to hold it was beyond my timeframe and skill level. Off it went.

I changed the skin from Redgrave to LaLutka. The Emil Pale skin looked ok, but the LaLutka Absolute gave me a closer approximation to the skin tone I wanted to represent him in later life.

The Result

Third Place!

country_singer_3rd

I was grateful not to have to judge the group. There were some terrific looks and I was honored to be selected.

What Would I Do Differently?

For this particular look, I think this is about as good as it gets. The representation of the Man in Black is as near as I can make it. If I could find a guitar with a strap, that might make a difference, but I really like the clean look without a lot of gimcrackery.

I could change the look and pick somebody else with a strong image.

Stuff

Hair: Laqroki – Rebel Black
Skin: LaLutka – Absolute Pale Base
Eyes: E’s for Eyes – Gleeming Deep Brown
Suit: AlphaMale – Casual Tux Black
Boots: Evocative – Cuban ankle boots
Shape: Custom sculpt by me

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on May 12, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

