18 Something

Ah, what a fool I can be sometimes. Tonight’s contest was very clearly posted as below.

Wednesday May 13
Event: Styling 1800 century theme
Time: 6pm/slt

Accordingly I dressed in my finest 18th century courtier garb.

18thCentury

This gorgeously executed costume is Sanders Beaumont’s excellent Courtois Chinese Blue from Fleur de Lys and the wig is Sky Everett’s work. I’ve worn this so much in the last four days, I feel like I ought to be offering pomanders to those around me. Or perhaps send it out to be cleaned.

The Result
About half the field thought, as I did, that the contest was for the 18th century. The other half picked 1800’s. Unfortunately, the judge agreed with them.

I got my two votes and I got to parade this great outfit on stage.

What would I do Differently?

Possibly would have been good to get the organizers to clarify the theme. In all honesty, it never occurred to me that the typo was the word “century” and not the “00” in the theme. Looking at it from the current perspective, that theme should have run warning bells and sent up flares.

Given the correct era, picking the right clothes might have been a good idea.

For the 18th century, there were other styles I could have taken. Revolutionary soldier. French peasant storming the Bastille, perhaps. Given that this is a Fashion contest first, I probably would still have gone with the same look because in the 1700s, Court dress was fashion.

Ah, well. Live and learn. The 19th Century dresses were lovely.

Stuff
Outfit: *FDL* Courtois Chinese Blue
Hair: Sky Everett Designs-Cerdwin Rococo
Skin: LeLutka – Absolute Pale

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on May 14, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

