Helen Keller Day – June 27th

On the subject of promoting good causes, I got this note from the Virtual Helping Hands people about an upcoming event that promises to be interesting.

“I am only one; but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; I will not refuse to do the something I can do.ā€
— Helen Keller (1880-1968) American Writer and Activist

“Helen Keller Day in Second Life” is a 24-hour PDT event on Saturday, June 27, in Second Life.com (SL) on the four Ye Olde Supporte Faire sims with vendors, employers, presentations, and fun for all.

If you’re not aware of the VHH, they are an umbrella group with units working on various aspects of accessibility on the Grid.

I’ve seen a list of the events planned and it’s a pretty ambitious schedule for a single day’s effort. The fashion tie-in here is that Style Enabled Modeling Agency is trying to organize a fashion show to showcase the work done by models who may be visually impaired, or in wheel chairs, etc. They need designers who would be willing to participate and take advantage of this opportunity to reach a clientele that’s outside the world of the fashionista on the grid.

If you’re interested contact the head of the agency, Polgara Paine, or leave a comment here in the blog and I’ll pass it to her.

Don’t feel like you need to contribute a ton. If all the designers just contributed one outfit to the cause …

I’ll post more on this as I find out more, too.

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on June 5, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you for your help on this event. We have some great models and other members who can’t see to shop or who can’t get into stores because of stairs or other barriers. This fashion show will be a great help to them to find fashions they can wear. See http://wheelies.wordpress.com/ for more information.

  2. I just blogged about Helen Keller Day as well as the great work on Max the Virtual Guide Dog: https://blogs.secondlife.com/community/community/education/blog/2009/06/17/beautiful-visions-beyond-sight-guide-dogs-and-helen-keller-day-in-second-life

    Roland, thank you for helping organize a fashion show for this event. Outstanding work, sir. šŸ™‚

  3. I’m just writin’ and readin’ – tryin’ to help as I can.

    Looks like it’s gonna be a great day’s event.

Leave a Reply

