Not Tonight

There was a contest tonight. I participated.

Normally in this space I would talk about what I did, why I did it, how it worked out, and what I’d do differently. Along the way I’d say where the goods came from, how they worked, what I thought about it.

Unfortunately the experience this evening was so egregiously unpleasant — from the flippant comments suggesting gang rape from one of the models backstage, to the organizer not even taking my name down to participate except as an after thought, and then the awards presented for best “Styling Provocative Gown” — that I’m afraid I can’t be particularly objective in my commentary.

In the classic movie “Bambi,” Thumper is called on the carpet by his mother for speaking ill of someone and she asks him what his father had told him. He replied:

“If you can’t say something nice, then don’t say nothin’ at all.”

So that’s what I’ll say.

UPDATE: I have corrected the text above to reflect the reality more accurately. I would further like to add my thanks to those who have offered their ongoing support and sympathy for an unfortunate situation. I do have a lot of very adamant supporters in the model corps. I am blessed in that regard.

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on August 10, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Excuse me, but the comment about gang rape came from ONE model backstage. It was horribly inappropriate, and although Xen’s response may not have been direct enough, it did stop that train in its tracks.

  2. Yes, my apologies. That is correct and I have really not given appropriate credit to those who did come to my defense.

    That was a mistake on my part. I’ll correct the text.

    The implication that this was an epidemic of inappropriateness was inaccurate and unintentional.

Leave a Reply

