Leaping Leopard

Tonight’s styling contest was one of those that sounds fair, but really isn’t. The theme was “Styling Leopard/Tiger Print Clothes.” It sounds like it would be fair. There’s lots of leopard and tiger print clothing. Yes, well. At the risk of offending those half dozen or so people out there who’ve actually made men’s clothing with animal print, let me just point out that — as with poses — where women have thousands of choices across a very broad spectrum of quality and look, men have a few dozen choices which rapidly reduces to a handful when you take out the purple leopard pimp suits, the unfinished bathing suits, and the no-mod underwear with the seam matching guides still on the bottom of the texture.

I found a couple of items that weren’t too bad, though, and I managed to put together a look.

The focal point for this outfit is the Bagor Bates Leopard Skin Jeans and Dell Battery’s DDD Leopard Heart Boots. The boots kinda grew on me, but I wish they’d been mod so I could adjust the color down a bit. The problem I ran into with styling this was that I really couldn’t put leopard on top without looking more contrived that it already was. A nice jacket and shirt would have been equally out of place. I went for the dirty biker look. And added the V-Twin biker jacket, gloves, tatts, and bandana. UncleWebs provided the long hair (Ilias coffee) and Belleza the tanned bearded skin (Mathieu 6). For accessories I added a knotted leather bracelet from Mustang Trading Post, Crowe glasses from primOptic, and the Ripped Pirate necklace. I liked that the necklace with the skull echoed the skull in the tattoo. Not a great tie in, but I thought it was a nice touch.

The Results

I was surprised but pleased to get a 3rd place finish.

What Would I Do Differently?

There are a couple of other relatively nice looking animal print items left out there to buy. A particularly nice waistcoat caught my eye, and it might have been the focus of a ‘riverboat gambler’ outfit. I also wondered if Avilon Hill might not have a leopard or tiger cloak that could work as a centerpiece for some medieval warlord style look. The problem with that is the expense. When we do this so often, and the top prize is less than the cost of a good suit, it makes it difficult to justify making those kinds of investments when the payoff is so low and so uncertain.

Stuff

pants: bagor bates – Leopard skin jeans
boots: Dell Battery – Leopard Heart Boots
vest: V-twin – Biker Jacket
bandana: V-Twin – bandana black
gloves: V-twin – biker gloves
Tattoos: V-twin – Rush
Glasses: primOptic – Crowe
Necklace: Ripped – Pirate Necklace

skin: Belleza – Mathieu 6 deep tan
hair: UW.st – Ilias Coffee

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on August 20, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

