Taking Care of Business

For Labor Day our assignment was “Styling Office Outfit Theme.” In one of the typical ironies of life in this pageant, like everyone else, I dressed, not as Labor, but as Management.

I started with the SF Designs’ Performance Suit in Marble. I love this suit’s use of texture and the styling. It comes with a variety of options but I picked the “straight up and buttoned down” configuration. For shoes I picked JCS Sebatian in charcoal. The wingtip styling fit the theme perfectly. The outfit needed the appropriate accessories so I dug out my briefcase and bluetooth earpiece, and added a discrete silver loop earring. For that final touch of ‘serious’ I added Role Optic’s Recon glasses but set the frames to highly reflective and put a pale blue lens gradient on to give them a glassy look.

The challenge with an outfit like this is picking poses that keep the briefcase out of the body. I had just enough of them to make a very simple routine and it worked well.

The Result

Two votes. I have no idea why the winners were chosen. It was a relatively large field that all looked pretty good. Taking nothing away from the winners, I couldn’t identify anything about them that made them stand apart from the rest of us. Obviously the judge did, but I couldn’t begin to think what.

What Would I Do Different?

Not knowing what the judge was looking for, I have no idea how to make this outfit better. I thought I looked very “office chic” but perhaps taking a different spin at “office outfit” and picked something like “Casual Friday” or “Mailroom Boy” would have provided a creative and different organizing idea around which to build an outfit.

Stuff
Suit: SF Designs – Performance Suit (Marble)
Shoes: JCS – Sebastian (Charcoal)
Glasses: Role Optic – Recon

Ear piece: Kazyanenko – Bluetooth Earpiece
Briefcase: Roland Zepp
Earring: Roland Zepp

Skin: LeLutka – Absolute (Tan)
Hair: UW.st – Hibiki (Coffee)
Eyes: Bowerbird – Posiedon

About Roland

I'm just an oversized avatar in a silly virtual world.

Posted on September 9, 2009, in Contests. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

